Why did I fail and why

The double “why” suggests there is double-thick layer of depth in this post. Read on.

Why did I fail? What has gone wrong?

Some weeks ago I decided to make simple and straightforward track in my favourite style. I wanted to test (and master) the technique. I had only rough idea about style of track I was going to create and its name – Applied Magic. You know this one already.

And I got what I wanted. Technically perfect, clear tune with fine-tuned sounds. Each of them is beautiful on their own, however they don’t make a composition as a whole. The break is when it all breaks down. The track is uninspired, too long, boring and doesn’t attract enough attention. Nobody likes it, including myself.

In just 10 days, Applied Magic scored as many listens as my other two tunes which are over 2 months old. But not a single person favourited it. This is the tune that can be no different than hundreds of others.

It isn’t an excuse that many labels and producers atually release tunes that are copy-paste of another one and are forgotten as soon as played. But I want to do better!!

Again, why did I fail? What was the reason?

Recently I discovered Kim Lajoie’s blog, which is amazing. The guy gives dozens of technicla tips and tricks that help in production, but not only. As much important, if not more, are the posts about wide area of inspiration, motivation and creativity. Some of them are simple and I agree with them, others were mindblowing. Better check it all on your own, while I write down what I came up with. To suceed in production, you need to:

  • Know what to do. There is no other way. Understand your direction, purpose, motivation, inspiration. Have precisely defined goal and head towards it. Sounds can be tweaked, skills can be improved, problems can be solved. But inspiration is irreplaceable. If you don’t what what you are doing, chance to succeed is low.
  • Know what not to do. If you are doing things that don’t help you achieve the goal, you are wasting your time. And motivation. Working hard doesn’t feel that hard if you see progress. Working just a little can, however, be tiring if you don’t. Always consider your goals. Focus on most important parts of production. Don’t try to fix something that’s not broken. Do not try to solve problems that do not exist. Understand the issue and find the solution. Experience helps a lot, too, but to get some experience you must eventually do things right. One can not learn if one doesn’t see area for improvement.

Possibly, these tips apply to many areas other than music production. If only your dream was not to work at greengrocer’s, you may find them inspiring.

That given, I want to do some more. There are many ideas I would like to realize. Been doing some sophisticated and ambitious projects already and I’m ready to take new challenges.

If you want to be best artist in the world, you can’t just create things similiar to others. You need to bring new quality and new ideas, improving what is already popular. Just in a week I’m going to try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

